Genevieve Cloutier: Performing Ghosts

gcloutierredprocess (1)

Artist’s Statement:

As a hauntological artist pursuing graduate work in education, I deconstruct my silenced First Nation Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) ancestry as I look towards the intergenerational narratives of my grandmother, mother, and I. I employ the arts-based educational research methodology of a/r/tography, the intersection of autobiography and art-making, as I utilize diverse art forms to find that ghosts reside amongst spaces of liminality. A/r/tography as métissage positions my inquiry in the difficult spaces of the in-between: Where ghosts come into sight before they vanish again. I work through the Derridean notion of Hauntology as I look for home (a work in progress). Drawing from these philosophical notions, and supported by the methodology of a/r/tography, I draw on works which blur the boundaries of self and other, past and present, because within the scope of narratives, disjunctive temporalities remind us that presence is constantly being haunted by the past. These haunted intertextual landscapes require us to walk through and around; diasporas of artifacts, texts and spectres follow. And within a system of impacting forces, I reflect on the notion that my identity, and that of my ancestors, was formed in motion.

gcloutierscript

This exhibit is part of an ongoing project concerning my silenced lineage; an ongoing process-based deconstruction of various intertextual components, remnants, traces, unfolding still.

gcloutier controlled them

Geneviève Cloutier received a bachelor of Media Arts from Emily Carr University of Art and Design. She is currently an occasional english and art teacher, and a teaching assistant at the University of Ottawa where she will be starting a PhD in the fall. Her arts-based research interests include methodologies, video, spatiality, intertextuality, and language.

Performing ghosts is the second instalment of my Masters thesis project; an ongoing project concerning my silenced lineage; a process-based deconstruction of various intertextual components, remnants, traces, unfolding still. My thesis (an essay and exhibit catalogue) about the first instalment of the show will be available to the public at Blink gallery between August 22-24.

Cloutier’s work can be seen at Blink Gallery Friday Saturday and Sunday, August 22-24, 12-5 PM. The artist will be present.

This entry was posted in Blink Events, guest shows, Shows 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

